74°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

2 On Your Side with Brittany Weiss is here for you.

Watch 2 On Your Side reports on all WBRZ News 2 newscasts: morning, noon, afternoon and evening.  Brittany Weiss is the 2 On Your Side anchor/reporter.  Check this page daily for helpful information and On Your Side reports.

Send tips to OnYourSide@wbrz.com

Neighborhood complains about spotty utility service

BATON ROUGE - A neighborhood is having trouble with a utility company and say their COX Internet, cable and phone services are going in and out.

A couple of people living in Bluebonnet Highlands reached out to 2 On Your Side after they say they haven't been able to get answers. Al Troy says it's been happening for the last two and a half months.

"It goes in and out all the time," he said. "I was on the phone with you and we became disconnected."

Troy says he's done the old unplug and restart deal too many times. A serviceman came out to his home recently and told him the signal coming to his home was operating at 20%. It hasn't been fixed and he's since found out that he's not alone.

His neighbors have been talking on the Nextdoor app.

"Some of them are working at home and it's a disaster for them," Troy said.

They say they're frustrated because they haven't received any updates from COX.

"I have no contact initiated by them as to what's going on here," he said. "You know, we're all stuck with no option with this."

COX is the only utility provider for this neighborhood. AT&T crews are currently laying fiber optic cable.

Troy called COX to complain and his account was credited. Others in the neighborhood have done the same thing.

COX says it's working in the area on a couple of projects. One of them is complete, another involves equipment replacement and is scheduled for next week.

Grid
List
BATON ROUGE - A neighborhood is having trouble with a utility company and say their COX Internet, cable and phone... More >>
7 hours ago Thursday, May 19 2022 May 19, 2022 Thursday, May 19, 2022 7:51:00 PM CDT May 19, 2022 in News
WALKER - There's a large mound of dirt in the middle of a cemetery in Livingston Parish and it's sitting... More >>
1 day ago Wednesday, May 18 2022 May 18, 2022 Wednesday, May 18, 2022 6:59:00 PM CDT May 18, 2022 in On Your Side
BATON ROUGE - For tax purposes, a man was asked to send in his death certificate to the Louisiana Department... More >>
3 days ago Monday, May 16 2022 May 16, 2022 Monday, May 16, 2022 7:51:00 PM CDT May 16, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman is still waiting on her federal tax refund, months after filing. She has a warning... More >>
6 days ago Friday, May 13 2022 May 13, 2022 Friday, May 13, 2022 6:28:00 PM CDT May 13, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - A Baton Rouge firefighter has had trouble getting in touch with city leaders about his neighborhood's drainage,... More >>
1 week ago Thursday, May 12 2022 May 12, 2022 Thursday, May 12, 2022 5:47:00 PM CDT May 12, 2022 in News
UPDATE: Thursday, the City-Parish was quick to respond. Heavy machinery helped to dig out debris from Lively Bayou, unblocking the... More >>
1 week ago Tuesday, May 10 2022 May 10, 2022 Tuesday, May 10, 2022 11:00:00 PM CDT May 10, 2022 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A handful of people have contacted 2 On Your Side about a scam that has targeted neighborhoods... More >>
1 week ago Tuesday, May 10 2022 May 10, 2022 Tuesday, May 10, 2022 8:39:00 PM CDT May 10, 2022 in News
GONZALES - People living in Ascension Parish have had to deal with red dust flying in the air when the... More >>
2 weeks ago Thursday, May 05 2022 May 5, 2022 Thursday, May 05, 2022 5:41:00 PM CDT May 05, 2022 in News
GEISMAR - A woman says her garbage collection service pulled a fast one on her, and she's concerned that if... More >>
2 weeks ago Monday, May 02 2022 May 2, 2022 Monday, May 02, 2022 8:16:00 PM CDT May 02, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - A family got their van back after it had been at the repair shop for two years.... More >>
2 weeks ago Friday, April 29 2022 Apr 29, 2022 Friday, April 29, 2022 2:26:00 PM CDT April 29, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - Less than 24 hours after a 2 On Your Side story aired about a blighted property, the... More >>
3 weeks ago Wednesday, April 27 2022 Apr 27, 2022 Wednesday, April 27, 2022 6:51:00 PM CDT April 27, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - A blighted property on River Road near West Roosevelt Street has become a dumping ground and a... More >>
3 weeks ago Tuesday, April 26 2022 Apr 26, 2022 Tuesday, April 26, 2022 7:20:00 PM CDT April 26, 2022 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A man who lives near a storage building says the new owners aren't being very good neighbors.... More >>
3 weeks ago Monday, April 25 2022 Apr 25, 2022 Monday, April 25, 2022 7:29:00 PM CDT April 25, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - After a woman was shot to death at the OYO Hotel near I-12 Thursday morning, city leaders... More >>
4 weeks ago Thursday, April 21 2022 Apr 21, 2022 Thursday, April 21, 2022 6:55:00 PM CDT April 21, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - A bit of hope for a man who got carjacked and kidnapped. The thief crashed his car... More >>
4 weeks ago Wednesday, April 20 2022 Apr 20, 2022 Wednesday, April 20, 2022 6:37:00 PM CDT April 20, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - A man in jail for randomly kidnapping a woman and assaulting her at Perkins Rowe has a... More >>
4 weeks ago Tuesday, April 19 2022 Apr 19, 2022 Tuesday, April 19, 2022 6:51:00 PM CDT April 19, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - Last Wednesday night, two cars collided in South Point subdivision in Denham Springs. It reignited a conversation... More >>
1 month ago Monday, April 18 2022 Apr 18, 2022 Monday, April 18, 2022 8:13:00 PM CDT April 18, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - A man took his van to a transmission shop almost two years ago, and it's still there.... More >>
1 month ago Friday, April 15 2022 Apr 15, 2022 Friday, April 15, 2022 6:54:00 PM CDT April 15, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - An emergency agenda item to approve more funds to clear Bayou Manchac was approved at Wednesday night's... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, April 14 2022 Apr 14, 2022 Thursday, April 14, 2022 7:14:00 PM CDT April 14, 2022 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A man says a home warranty company made him jump through hoops to do something he says... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, April 13 2022 Apr 13, 2022 Wednesday, April 13, 2022 6:48:00 PM CDT April 13, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - It's a strange problem for a business owner. Dumpster diving is getting out of control and now... More >>
1 month ago Monday, April 11 2022 Apr 11, 2022 Monday, April 11, 2022 9:40:00 PM CDT April 11, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman's calls to the City-Parish couldn't get the job done which is why she contacted 2... More >>
1 month ago Friday, April 08 2022 Apr 8, 2022 Friday, April 08, 2022 5:54:00 PM CDT April 08, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - After two years, a sinkhole in Azalea Lakes has been repaired. It was last April when 2... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, April 06 2022 Apr 6, 2022 Wednesday, April 06, 2022 6:53:00 PM CDT April 06, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - A man says it has been a journey trying to get the City-Parish to help him with... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, April 05 2022 Apr 5, 2022 Tuesday, April 05, 2022 7:21:00 PM CDT April 05, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - Late last year a man was carjacked and kidnapped. If that wasn't enough, now he's on the... More >>
1 month ago Monday, April 04 2022 Apr 4, 2022 Monday, April 04, 2022 11:45:00 AM CDT April 04, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - A man contacted 2 On Your Side after unwanted rodents have found their way into his backyard.... More >>
1 month ago Friday, April 01 2022 Apr 1, 2022 Friday, April 01, 2022 7:18:00 PM CDT April 01, 2022 in News
GONZALES - The sky was painted red Wednesday when red dust was kicked up by the strong wind. Homeowners in... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, March 30 2022 Mar 30, 2022 Wednesday, March 30, 2022 9:55:00 PM CDT March 30, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - A man contacted 2 On Your Side after he's been trying for decades to get a problem... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, March 29 2022 Mar 29, 2022 Tuesday, March 29, 2022 7:48:00 PM CDT March 29, 2022 in News
WALKER - The United States Postal Service is working to make deliveries more efficient, but there's resistance from some people... More >>
1 month ago Monday, March 28 2022 Mar 28, 2022 Monday, March 28, 2022 7:16:00 PM CDT March 28, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman has been waiting nearly a year for the city-parish to respond to her eroding yard.... More >>
1 month ago Monday, March 28 2022 Mar 28, 2022 Monday, March 28, 2022 1:11:00 PM CDT March 28, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - Earlier this month, 2 On Your Side reported on a bride who was anxiously waiting for her... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, March 23 2022 Mar 23, 2022 Wednesday, March 23, 2022 5:49:00 PM CDT March 23, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - Last year, 2 On Your Side reported on a storm drain cover that had been broken for... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, March 22 2022 Mar 22, 2022 Tuesday, March 22, 2022 10:00:00 PM CDT March 22, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - A concerned mom reached out to 2 On Your Side after her son's bus is repeatedly a... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, March 15 2022 Mar 15, 2022 Tuesday, March 15, 2022 7:12:00 PM CDT March 15, 2022 in News
ZACHARY - There are about 10 houses on a stretch of road that has been badly damaged by 18-wheelers. One... More >>
2 months ago Monday, March 14 2022 Mar 14, 2022 Monday, March 14, 2022 7:13:00 PM CDT March 14, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - There is a tree hanging over a woman's house, and she's concerned it could fall -- but... More >>
2 months ago Friday, March 11 2022 Mar 11, 2022 Friday, March 11, 2022 9:30:00 PM CST March 11, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - People living in and moving into a new Baton Rouge neighborhood haven't been getting their mail delivered.... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, March 10 2022 Mar 10, 2022 Thursday, March 10, 2022 6:58:00 PM CST March 10, 2022 in News
LAPLACE - A woman says her wedding venue was damaged during the hurricane last year. After moving her wedding date... More >>
2 months ago Wednesday, March 09 2022 Mar 9, 2022 Wednesday, March 09, 2022 8:01:00 PM CST March 09, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - A man reached out to his utility company for help, and after he didn't get results he... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, March 08 2022 Mar 8, 2022 Tuesday, March 08, 2022 6:57:00 PM CST March 08, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - Following a 2 On Your Side story last October , a woman sued the city. Barbara Davis... More >>
2 months ago Monday, March 07 2022 Mar 7, 2022 Monday, March 07, 2022 6:10:00 PM CST March 07, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - Last week, AT&T began its 3G network sunset. It didn't just affect phones, but everyday appliances. ... More >>
2 months ago Friday, March 04 2022 Mar 4, 2022 Friday, March 04, 2022 6:49:00 PM CST March 04, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - A contractor was assigned to fix a downed power pole in a woman's backyard following Hurricane Ida,... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, March 03 2022 Mar 3, 2022 Thursday, March 03, 2022 8:02:00 PM CST March 03, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman who got married last summer says the guy she hired to film her ceremony and... More >>
2 months ago Wednesday, March 02 2022 Mar 2, 2022 Wednesday, March 02, 2022 6:54:00 PM CST March 02, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - A portion of the city-parish's sewer project from years ago is still causing issues for a neighborhood... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, March 01 2022 Mar 1, 2022 Tuesday, March 01, 2022 6:29:00 PM CST March 01, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - Crystal Taylor learned last week that she's been paying someone else's bill for the last year. The... More >>
2 months ago Friday, February 25 2022 Feb 25, 2022 Friday, February 25, 2022 6:52:00 PM CST February 25, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - Two years ago, Anne Hibbard's son was bit by a black widow spider, and it set off... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, February 24 2022 Feb 24, 2022 Thursday, February 24, 2022 6:46:00 PM CST February 24, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - A hole in Azalea Lakes is getting bigger, but the parish says it's because a neighborhood is... More >>
2 months ago Wednesday, February 23 2022 Feb 23, 2022 Wednesday, February 23, 2022 6:51:00 PM CST February 23, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - For quite a while now, replacing the downtown parking meters has been on the parish's to-do list.... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, February 22 2022 Feb 22, 2022 Tuesday, February 22, 2022 6:39:00 PM CST February 22, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - If you have seen a car lot recently, you may have noticed there are a lot fewer... More >>
2 months ago Monday, February 21 2022 Feb 21, 2022 Monday, February 21, 2022 8:10:00 PM CST February 21, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - Violations are raining down on the owners of an apartment complex trying to pull a fast one.... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, February 17 2022 Feb 17, 2022 Thursday, February 17, 2022 3:39:00 PM CST February 17, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - For the last 10 months, the Baton Rouge Police Department has been monitoring and working with crime... More >>
3 months ago Wednesday, February 16 2022 Feb 16, 2022 Wednesday, February 16, 2022 6:35:00 PM CST February 16, 2022 in News

News tip form